Barbershop Inspiration

We were out in the garden today working hard and listening to music.  A barbershop version of “Stormy Weather” popped up on the iTunes playlist. I almost fell off the porch, it was so good. I’m pretty sure it was by Vocal Spectrum, an out-of-this-world quartet.  If you don’t know them, or are unfamiliar with barbershop music. please make an effort to listen.  You’ll be hooked before you know it.

They are directly responsible for inspiring my barbershop group to get serious about the form and to work very hard to improve.  They came to Madrid a few years back and did a concert in a little club in town.  I was blown away.  I couldn’t believe it was possible to sing corny old barbershop with such style and with such power, blend and musicality. I was personally transformed.

My barbershop group is lightyears, and I mean…LIGHTYEARS behind these talented musicians. But thanks to their inspiration, we managed to get ourselves to a few SABS competitions.  We started out at the absolute bottom of the pack, but have improved every year.

Here’s the link to the Vocal Spectrum website. http://www.vocalspectrum.com/

Please take a few minutes to listen to some of their music.  Here’s one of my favorites…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNmW4t22v0s&list=RDDNmW4t22v0s

Leave a Reply

